Flora Ann Bynum Medal

Flora Ann Bynum (1987) – Annual Meeting in Charlottesville, Virginia
The Flora Ann Bynum Medal is awarded by the Southern Garden History Society (SGHS) occasionally to recipients who have rendered outstanding service to the organization.  A nomination may be made at any time by any member. It should contain a cover letter outlining the nominee’s service to SGHS, stating specific contributions and accomplishments. As well, it should include the names and addresses of at least three other people knowledgeable of the nominee. Nominations should be sent to the SGHS president. The executive committee will make a recommendation to the board of directors, who must approve the award. The award will usually be presented at the annual meeting.
2019 Winner – Gordon Chappell (with wife Sherrie)


Winners of the Flora Ann Bynum Medal:

Gordon Chappell (2019)
Davyd Foard Hood (2018)
William C. Welch (2016)
J. Dean Norton (2016)
Gail Griffin (2014)
Peter J. Hatch (2012)
Peggy Cornett (2008)
Flora Ann Bynum (2005)


William Lanier Hunt Award

Open to both professionals and accomplished amateurs, this award recognizes individuals and/or organizations who have made an exceptional contribution to the field. Members, non-members, and organizations who have made exceptional contribution to fields closely aligned with the mission of SGHS are eligible for nomination. Recipients will have an unquestionable legacy of accomplishment in the field, this being equivalent to a lifetime achievement award.
Preference shall be given to candidates whose body of work includes significant volunteerism or demonstrates extraordinary accomplishments. Areas of interest include: land conservation, garden preservation, landscape and garden scholarship/education, landscape archeology, horticultural heritage, and other areas closely tied to the SGHS mission.
Potential award recipients may be nominated by any SGHS member through a letter of recommendation sent to the president by August 15. Nominations should include a detailed outline of the potential recipient’s body of work and significant accomplishments related to SGHS goals. It should include the names and contact information of three people knowledgeable about the candidate and willing to support the nomination. Nominations will be evaluated by the awards committee, and, if appropriate, forwarded to the SGHS board of directors who will select award recipients. When more than one qualified nomination is received the board may, at its discretion, offer two awards but delay presenting one of the awards until the following year.

Winners of the William Lanier Hunt Award:

Suzanne Turner (2019)


Honorary Directors

The title Honorary Director (board of directors) may be bestowed on individuals who have rendered exceptional service and made significant contributions to SGHS. The distinction is usually given to individuals who have served as officers or board members for a number of years or to others whose long-term work and devotion have significantly advanced SGHS  mission, goals, and objectives. Honorary directors enjoy the rights and privileges described in the bylaws. Nominations for honorary director are made to the president by current board members, including honorary board members, and are approved by the board of directors.

Honorary Directors:

Staci L. Catron
Dr. A. Jefferson Lewis, III
Kenneth M. McFarland
Ben Page
Mary Anne Pickens
Jane Campbell Symmes
Dr. William C. Welch


Certificate of Merit

The Certificate of Merit is presented to a member or non-member whose work has advanced the mission and goals of SGHS. The certificate may be for a body of work or for an individual project including, but not limited to, restoration of a garden, leadership in a project relevant to SGHS interests, research, or publications. Requests for certificates of merit should be sent to the president and should include a cover letter and supporting documentation. Awarding of certificates of merit will be approved by the board of directors and will usually be announced at the annual meeting.
2019 winnder, Norman Kent Johnson (center) giving a tour of his garden design in Mountain Brook, Alabama during the 2019 Annual Meeting.


Winners of the Certificate of Merit:

Norman Kent Johnson (2019)
Sally Gant (2018)
Catherine Howett (2015)
Frances D. Inglis (2014)
Marion Drummond (2013)
Davyd Foard Hood (2012)
Jim Cothran (2011)
Margaret Bemiss (2010)
Weej Broderson (2010)
Patti McGee (2010)
Jane White (2010)



This segment of the page is being updated, and the latest information will be available soon. Your patience is much appreciated.


Scholarship recipients:


Tessa Pinner, Spartanburg Community College (2019)
Chunfeng Lu, Louisiana State University (2019)
Alexis Boenker, University of Florida (2018)
Maegan Luckett, Sandhills Community College (2018)
Emily Phan, University of Florida(2018)
Perky Beisel, Stephen F. Austin State University (2017)
Gavin Howell, American College of the Building Arts (2017)
Sylvia McLaurin, Mississippi State University (2017)
Arianne Wolfe, University of Georgia (2017)
Nathan Dittman, University of Georgia (2016)
Thomas Baker, University of Georgia (2015)
Sehba Imtiaz, University of Maryland (2015)
Isaac Kirwan, Spartanburge Community College (2015)
Paul Cady, University of Georgia (2014)
Adam Martin, University of Georgia (2014)
LeeAnne Brooks, Boston Architectural College (2013)
J. Brad Goshorn, Clemson University (2013)
Cheryl Miller, Boston Architectural College (2013)
Leslie Bird, University of Mary Washington (2012)
Mollie Bogle, Georgia State University (2012)
Fiona McAnally, University of Tennessee (2012)
Raffi Andonian, University of Georgia (2011)